ACCOUNTABILITY AND VALIDITY OF FORMATIVE ASSESSMENT

One day, I hope to finally shake the white albatross of marking that has been hanging around my neck these past 20 years of teaching English in the Vancouver School District. I also hope that I will be able to do it well and with a clear conscience. Currently, the only ray of hope for me of escaping from the mundane task of daily marking is early retirement. I do not want it to come to this but I am afraid that I may burn out if I go back to teaching a full load of senior English classes. I love teaching English yet dislike marking and the sometimes deleterious effect is has on my learners. Will I be able to eliminate most of my marking load by fully employing formative assessment strategies in my classroom? More importantly, will this result in measurable improvement in learning with my classes? My inquiry aims to have my learners take on more responsibility for their learning and for them to be less marks-centric. I envision English classes where students do assignments and activities for the sake of learning and not for the numerical score at the end. The revolutionary ideas that call for the elimination of all marking and grading and propose a focus on formative assessment intrigues me and yet scares me.

TO CONTINUE READING MY ICR, CLICK HERE:  ICR#2 linda kwan AUTHENTICITY AND VALIDITY OF ASSESSMENT

 

 

About Cakebrain

A Vancouver English teacher preoccupied with cake... Reflecting about my learning as an educator. I am currently teaching English part time and also working part time at the Vancouver Board of Education as a Learning Technologies Mentor. This blog also contains an archive of my Concept Papers and Inquiry and Coaching Reflections (ICR) from my grad studies program at VIU (CIEL) You can follow my food and edu-tweets @Cakebrain My Class Wiki: http://uhillenglish.wikispaces.com My food blog is http://cakeonthebrain.blogspot.com
This entry was posted in Formative Assessment, Inquiry & Coaching Reflections (ICR), Reflections and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

